Welcome to the Austin Poetry Society!

The Austin Poetry Society (APS) encourages the reading, writing, and appreciation of poetry.


The APS Annual Contest Results are here!

 Thank you to everyone who came to our Annual Awards Ceremony. And big congratulations to all the winners for your wonderful poems! To see the results, click here. 

PicMonkey Collage


Monthly Contest Results:

Here are the results for the last monthly contest. Congratulations to the winners! And a big thanks to our judge, Elzy Cogswell.

General Verse:

Judge’s Results
1 The Joy of Bluebonnets by Lavern McCarthy
2 Expression by Ailana Larson
3 Special Place for the Innocent by Greg Silver

Popular Vote
1 The Joy of Bluebonnets by Lavern McCarthy
2 Woe! To Faux! By Barbara Blanks

Light Verse:

Judgel’s Results
1 Nothing That Hamburgers Couldn’t Fix by Greg Silver
2 In Hindsight by Lavern McCarthy
3 What’s the Rush by Ailana Larson

Popular Vote
1 In Hindsight by Lavern McCarthy
2 What’s the Rush by Ailana Larson

The Annual Contests are now CLOSED. 

Entries to the APS Annual Contests were due on April 1st.  Come hear the announcement of the winners at our Annual Awards Assembly on Saturday, May 20th, from 1:30-4:00pm at the Yarborough Branch Library .

Send us your Poetic Insights!

Where do you find poetic inspiration? Who first introduced you to poetry? How has poetry changed your life? Do you have a funny poetic anecdote to share? APS is looking for short, poetry-related insights to post on our website homepage each month. If you’re interested in providing a snippet of poetic prose, email us at austinpoetrysociety@gmail.com. Blurbs should be 200-300 words long and accompanied by a photo of you. We look forward to hearing from you!

Don’t forget to renew your membership!

All APS memberships expire in May of each year, so now is the perfect time to renew. We’ll be starting up the meetings and monthly contests again this fall, and you don’t want to miss out! To renew your membership or join for the first time, visit our Join the APS page. You can submit your application online or print a copy and mail it in. We hope to see you all again this September!

April 2016 APS meeting

Share Your Photos!

If you have pictures from our Annual Awards Ceremony or any of our recent meetings that you would like to post to our Gallery page, email the files to austinpoetrysociety@gmail.com. If you did not take the photos yourself, please tell us who did so we can give proper credit. Thanks!



If you are a member of the Austin Poetry Society and would like to volunteer, please email us at austinpoetrysociety@gmail.com. We are currently looking for a treasurer, as well as people to chair various committees. Let us know if you can help!